Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sioux Falls, SD Director of Refractive Surgery Dr. Vance Thompson

Testimonials

Vance Thompson Vision believes that prospective patients need an excellent resource for information on eye conditions, treatments, and other personal experiences to make an informed decision on the right person for their ophthalmologic needs. If you live in the Sioux Falls, SD area and you are searching for an eye surgeon for your cornea, glaucoma, cataracts, and other eye care needs, please read through our patient reviews to gain perspective and insight. We are thankful for each one of our testimonials and are happy to publish them here in one place for our visitors to browse. Our board-certified ophthalmologist surgeons (Drs. Thompson, Tendler, and Berdahl), and optometrists (Drs. Wallin, Rasmussen, Schweitzer, Schmit, Ibach, and Karpuk) know that each patient is special and deserves a personalized patient experience.

Filter17 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 13, 2018

Vance Thompson and his team took amazing care me. Best Dr. Around I was scared he kept me calm my 1st surgery ever. He Text me to make sure I was doing ok after hours following up, ment alot to me that every Dr I had been to don't do that. THOMPSON GOES OUT OF HIS WAY FOR HIS PATIENTS AND TURLEY CARES ABOUT THEM.. I will reccomend him to anyone for major surgeries AND LASIK THE COLOR AND ENHANCEMENTS LIFE CHANGING. I cried when I could see. Couldn't of asked for a better dr. THANK YOU DR. VANCE THOMPSON!! ?? NO MORE NEERDY GLASSES FOR ME ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 07, 2018

As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser causing correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

I can not say any more positive things about my experience! I received top notch care, with amazing staff and doctors each step of the way! I had PRK eye surgery done, and I can say it was one of the best decisions I've ever made!! I would recommend Dr. Vance Thompson & the other staff to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 04, 2018

Dr Vance Thompson provides state of the art eye care. His caring and compassion is evident for all who come through the door. The entire team is highly qualified. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 17, 2018

Tomorrow marks 2 weeks since having Lasik vision correction surgery done by Dr. Vance Thompson. After having worn glasses for the past 37 years, it is very odd to open my eyes in the morning and see everything around me, including the alarm clock. I had one eye corrected a little less for distance and this allows me to see quite a bit close up but I do use some reading glasses for very tiny or pale print. An easy trade off for me! I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Vance Thompson and his entire team at Vance Thompson Vision! Each person there made me feel like a member of their own family. I feel so blessed to have had one of the best & most experienced eye surgeons in this country! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 14, 2017

Everyone I dealt with at Vance Thompson Vision was so helpful and nice. Top notch staff!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 07, 2017

Amazing doctor and team! Wouldn't trust my eyes with anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 19, 2017

Dr. Berdahl performed my LASIK eye surgery and I am 100% satisfied. Dr. Berdahl and all of his staff have treated me so well throughout the process of consultation, surgery, and post-op check ups. I went in to see if I qualified for surgery in May of 2016 and was able to schedule surgery in early June 2016. They were thorough with their explanations as well as making me feel comfortable through the process. Within 24 hours I had 20/20 vision and a year later I have 20/15. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 26, 2017

I recently was at the Vance Thompson clinic. I can't say enough about the wonderful care I received, the thoughtfulness and professionalism of the doctors, nurses and staff. I would highly recommend them to everyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 16, 2017

I really felt comfortable with Dr. Vance Thompson Vision and all of his associates they were very professional and very good at what they do and my experience was excellent the bad vision I had before and the vision I have now is exceptional . He has a. great team and thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  May 16, 2017

It is easy to see why Vance Thompson Vision gets such accolades. Parking access=A+, Reception staff= A+, Nurse Cassie=A+, Intern Spencer =A+, Dr. Doug Wallin =A++ and Dr. Vance Thompson =A++. Thanks for all of your help everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 16, 2017

Just before Halloween of last year, I took a leap that I didn't think that I ever would: I had PRK laser vision correction. I'd worn glasses since I was in first grade and contact lenses since second grade. I wasn't a Lasik candidate because the thinnest part of my cornea was slightly off center in both eyes. By the time I was thinking about laser vision correction, my eyesight was 20/400. In both eyes.So I chose PRK. And I took that leap because of the people at Vance Thompson Vision. If you don't know Dr. Vance Thompson, you should. He's among the kindest, smartest, and most skilled eye surgeons on the planet. He's performed over 70,000 surgeries on eyes just like mine - eyes that I didn't think could be repaired. Dr. Thompson and his colleagues - Dr. John Berdahl and and Dr. Alison Tendler – perform surgery on eyes like mine because it's Sacred work. With a capital "S." And they do it because they intend to be the best in the world. They are.What's my vision today, just under two months later? 20/20 in both eyes. It doesn't seem possible, but Dr. Thompson, Matt Jensen, Keith Rasmussen and the crew at VTV made the possible probable and changed my life. All I can say is thank you. I'm proud to be part of the VTV universe. I'm even more delighted to be a leader of Matt Jensen Marketing - MJM and someone who every day gets to see and support this amazing practice. Dr. Thompson and team - you've reminded me how much of my world is #worthseeing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 12, 2016

I was very nervous before my LASIK surgery this morning. My vision was nearly -9 in both eyes which means I was pushing the upper limitations of the surgery. I have had glasses for 27 years. After surgery I sat up, read the clock and burst into tears. I can't begin to explain the gratitude I feel for what Dr. Doug Wallin and Dr. Vance Thompson did for me today. I may not get to the 20/20 vision that so many others have due to my extremely high level of correction but the correction I have already experienced just hours after the procedure is truly amazing. I know it will only get better. I recommended Vance Thompson vision to anyone because they are the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 01, 2016

My experience with Dr Thimpson could not have been any better! He took the time to visit with me personally and devised a plan for LASIK surgery that would be customized specifically for me. He and all of his staff were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and reassuring. This truly is a miraculous procedure. I wouldn't consider having LASIK with any other Doctor. Dr. Thompson is clearly a visionary in his profession. Pun intended! I am thrilled with my results and am grateful to VTV. #blessed More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

From the initial visit in the office to my experience with my eye surgery (now see better than 20/20) I can't recommend strongly enough Dr. Vance Thompson and his entire team at Vance Thompson Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 28, 2015

10+ years ago Dr. Vance Thompson preformed surgery in an attempt to restore my rapidly decreasing vision due to Anterior Basement Membrane Corneal Dystrophy. His skilled hands and superior knowledge restored my vision and to this day I have had no recurrence. I now live in Missouri and have met several ophthalmologists who know Dr Thompson or were trained by him in the use of laser surgeries. His hands preformed my miracle and I will sing his praises the rest of my life!! More

5.0
Review from Test  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 02, 2014

What an amazing experience! More