Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sioux Falls, SD Principal Researcher Dr. John Berdahl

Testimonials

Vance Thompson Vision believes that prospective patients need an excellent resource for information on eye conditions, treatments, and other personal experiences to make an informed decision on the right person for their ophthalmologic needs. If you live in the Sioux Falls, SD area and you are searching for an eye surgeon for your cornea, glaucoma, cataracts, and other eye care needs, please read through our patient reviews to gain perspective and insight. We are thankful for each one of our testimonials and are happy to publish them here in one place for our visitors to browse. Our board-certified ophthalmologist surgeons (Drs. Thompson, and Berdahl), and optometrists (Drs. Wallin, Rasmussen, Schweitzer, Schmit, and Ibach) know that each patient is special and deserves a personalized patient experience.

Filter43 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 24, 2019

Without doubt, my complete experience at Vance Thompson Vision has been above and beyond compare. Every single person with whom I had contact was totally awesome - from the moment I called requesting an appointment through my departure from day-after-surgery check up. Sarah, Steph, Stephanie, Aimee, Dr. Ibach, Dr. Berdahl, Gideon, Chris, Becky, Jeremy . . . and just everyone! What an amazingly gracious team you have on board.Thank you for all the smiles, delightful communications, for uplifting my spirits, and giving me hope. I loved the surgery serenade, Dr. Berdahl and Surgical Team. Jeremy, I'm excited about staying in touch and learning everything possible about the Equinox study. Couldn't be more exciting news for the glaucoma crowd Go Team!Warmly,Jeanne Deller More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 12, 2019

Had a very good experience with him. I highly recommend him More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 14, 2019

As an eye surgeon, I made the decision to travel from Utah to Sioux Falls to have Dr. John Berdahl perform my surgery. I was able to experience their famous team approached to patient service and care. Amazing! Such nice and caring people who are so skilled at what they do and sincerely care about people and patients. My results so far are better than anticipated! These are the leaders in the country on customer service and treating employees and patients exceptionally well! Isn't this what doctoring is all about or should be?? Kudos VTV! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 29, 2019

I had PRK eye surgery with Dr. Berdahl years ago. I had VERY bad eyesight & he was extremely kind & caring in helping us decide the best surgery choice for my eyesight. We also did research & he would talk with us answering questions; very patient doctor who makes patients feel like they are his ONLY patient. The surgery was MORE successful than anticipated & 7 years later still get by with readers! We took our adult son there for lasik surgery - he is the best!! Also referred a friend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 22, 2018

Cataract/Cornea - Dr. Berdahl performed successful Cataract/Cornea surgery on both my eyes and I no longer need prescription eyeglasses (just use readers for small print). The entire team at Vance Thompson Vision is excellent (very friendly and professional from the minute you walk into the waiting room). Strongly recommend Dr. Berdahl. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 03, 2018

GREAT! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 03, 2018

Five Stars - GREAT! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 11, 2018

Excellent Surgeon - Dr. Berdahl performed cataract surgery and placed a stent for my glaucoma issue in both eyes. I have the upmost confidence in Dr. Berdahl as a very compassionate and experienced doctor. I would never let any other doctor treat my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 31, 2017

Dr Berdahl and his team are tops!!! I am so happy with my new 20/20 vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 16, 2017

Dr. Berdahl and his team are second to none!! You won't find a better eye surgeon anywhere. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 11, 2017

Could not be happier! - Dr. Berdahl performed my LASIK eye surgery. I could not have asked for a better experience. He told me every step of the way what he was doing and made me feel very comfortable. I would recommend Dr. Berdahl to anyone wanting to having LASIK. The entire team at Vance Thompson Vision were all great. Everyone was friendly, accommodating and genuinely helpful. So happy I chose VTVfor my eye care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 21, 2017

Five Stars - Dr. Berdahl and his team took unbelievable care of me. Great experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 21, 2017

Dr. Berdahl and his team took unbelievable care of me. Great experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 29, 2017

Exceptional Service and Care! - I am absolutely amazed with my vision after LASIK surgery at Vance Thompson Vision. Until I no longer had to wear them, I didn't realize how much contact lenses were irritating my eyes and making them feel dry. I had surgery in the late afternoon on a Thursday and was at work at 7am Friday morning with 20/15 vision. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my experience has been. I would recommend Dr. Berdahl and Vance Thompson Vision over and over again, it truly is a world class establishment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 10, 2017

Five Stars - Very impressed with Doctor Berdahl, Doctor Ibach, and all support staff. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive to our needs. I highly recommend the company, Vance Thompson Vision, for all eye care needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 07, 2017

Great experience - I am just recovering from my second DESK procedure. The first one went splendidly well. The second one hasn't been quite so successful but the Clinic has been doing a super job of getting me moving forward to a healing. They whole Clinic is so caring and considerate. Dr. Schweiter and Dr. Swan have been very, very supportive of me and my feelings and I feel 100% confident that I will have a successful outcome. Would not go anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 31, 2017

I knew I was in excellent hands with Dr Berdahl and his whole team. They were kind, reassuring and joyful throughout the entire process. Dr Berdahl made me feel comfortable and relaxed during surgery. Having LASIK was one of the best decisions I've made. Not having to worry about glasses when I take photos now is freeing! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 31, 2017

Dr Berdahl was fantastic! I was concerned that I wouldn't be a good candidate for LASIK with my lower correction but I was reassured that they would be able to help me. Dr Berdahl made me feel comfortable throughout the entire process and we even shared a laugh during my surgery. So thankful for the excellent care I received. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 06, 2016

The whole team and Vance Thompson was great to work with! Great care coordination! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 05, 2016

Five Stars - Everyone! Without exception at Vance Thompson Vision in Sioux Falls deserves the highest of accolades for their knowledge of eye diseases and the extremely wonderful bedside manner they have all shown me. I have been dealing with glaucoma for over 25 years, seen many doctors and have had countless eye surgeries. Dr. John Berdahl, Dr. Justin Schwietzer, Liz, Laurl and many of the other staff, always, genuinely show caring and empathy for me and my situation. Their surgical staff is also amazing. From pre-op to post, their concern for my comfort seemed paramount. Thank you all so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 08, 2016

Cornea and cataract laser surgery - I never had to wait for my appointments. The staff was friendly and put me at ease. They explained each test they were doing as they did it and were polite and helpful. I had no trouble making appointments, the medicine (eye drops) i needed were explained....how to take them, when to take each one and also a form to check as i used each one so there would be no question as to when i used them.John Berdahl, Mitch and Bill worked together very well. They all knew their job and did it without confusion. I felt so at ease and am thankful for such wonderful care! I actually had 2 doctors confer and give the same diagnosis while i had my cataract evaluation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 21, 2016

My cataract surgery was a pleasant experience and I would definitely recommend Vance Thompson Vision to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

Dr. Berdahl did my LASIK over two years ago and it has been one of the best choices I have ever made. My vision is still awesome! I felt well informed and relaxed about the entire procedure. The entire team was outstanding and I could not have asked for a better outcome. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

I have a eye disease called keratoconus. As my keratoconus got worse, many eye doctors told me I would never be able to see very well again, until I meet Dr. Berdahl. He was able to get my vision all the way back to 20/20, something I expected would never happen again. He is now the only Dr. with whom I will trust my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

Dr. Berdahl recently performed my LASIK surgery and he was awesome! He answered all of my questions during the initial consult and was comforting during the surgery. I was nervous about how I would react during the surgery but Dr. Berdahl was encouraging through the whole procedure. I can honestly say that I had a fun time before, during and after surgery! My vision is fantastic and was seeing 20/15 after one week. I'm so excited that I don't have to worry about glasses anymore when taking photos. I recommend Dr. Berdahl and team to anyone who is considering LASIK surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 24, 2015

PRK With Dr. Berdahl - I had a fantastic experience getting PRK at Vance Thompson Vision. Dr. Ibach did a great job of explaining how everything was going to go and Dr. Berdahl was awesome when it came to the actual procedure. Everyone I came across at the office was pleasant and professional. All things considered it was the best medical experience I've ever had. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 07, 2015

Great experience - Everyone was very helpful and professional. Results were wonderful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 26, 2015

Caring and thooughtful - My surgery with Dr Berdahl was amazing. He and the staff were so caring and thoughful. They help my hand and talked me through the enire proedure so I knew exactly what to expect. Dr Berdahl called me the same night to make sure I was doing well and to answer any questions I had. I completely trust this team!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 17, 2015

Five Stars - I was so pleased with my experience with Dr. Berdahl. Plus now my eyes work! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 22, 2015

Excellent patient care - I recently had cataract surgery. I was nervous about the surgery but after having my pre-op and visiting with Dr. Berdahl I felt very positive about the surgery. Dr. Berdahl did a wonderful job and is a great surgeon. This whole experience has been nothing but top notch from the minute I walked into their clinic until the moment I left everyone was very friendly and helpful. I want to thank Dr. Berdahl and his whole staff for taking such good care of me. For the first time in my life I can see without contacts or glasses. It has been an amazing journey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 22, 2015

Five Stars - Simply Excellent! If you are thinking about LASIK call Dr Berdahl at Vance Thompson Vision More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 20, 2015

Dr. Berdhal not only gave me my vision but a whole new out look on life! The care was excellent and my treatment to correct my vision was a two step process, he explained everything in great detail to me and educated me about the process. The staff in the surgery center where my procedure was done where excellent, friendly and caring. I would not only recommend Dr. Berdhal but would insist anyone looking for corrective eye surgery seek him and his staff out, there are the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 19, 2015

Highly Recommend! - Dr. Berdahl did my LASIK over two years ago and it has been one of the best choices I have ever made. My vision is still awesome! I felt well informed and relaxed about the entire procedure and he even called that night to see how I was doing and answer any questions. The entire team was outstanding and I could not have asked for a better outcome I was very impressed. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2015

Dr. Berdahl performed my LASIK surgery and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I was really nervous and he took time to answer all my questions making sure I was completely relaxed and confident in my choice before surgery. The procedure itself was so quick and the recovery time was less than 3 hours! I was able to drive myself to my appt the next morning and I was already 20/15 in less than 24 hours! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2015

Everything about this experience was easy, I felt very comfortable with everyone from the beginning with my consultation and through my surgery. This is a very top notch place! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 07, 2013

I really trust him - I have a cornea disease called Fuchs dystrophy and was referred to Dr. Berdahl by my eye doctor to determine if I need a cornea transplant. As you can imagine its a bit scary. He explained the disease and and what I'd could expect over time, and the examination was very thorough. I am seeing ok and so far Dr Berdahl has recommended that I wait on surgery. He did LASIK on my wife and she is doing wonderful and even called her to check on her the night of surgery. He is never pushy and always has time for my questions. It's good to have a doctor you like and trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 27, 2013

Five Stars - I just got done with having implantable contact lenses put in my eyes by Dr. Berdahl. I was pretty nervous about the idea of this surgery since I went into it assuming I would be a good candidate for LASIK. Dr. Berdahl spent a lot of extra time with me talking through my vision and the measurements of my eyes (which his staff did an excellent job performing) and why he saw me as a better candidate for the implants - without any pressure! He recommended the phakic IOL based on what he saw in my eyes. I am so thankful for his expertise and honesty. If I'd gone to a strip-mall LASIK house I would have likely ended up with terrible night vision (again, this is specific to my eyes and Dr. Berdahl would be able to give you the best recommendation based on your own eyes). I now have 20/15 vision and I couldn't be happier with the whole experience. Dr. Berdahl even called me at home the night after my surgery to make sure I was ok. I've never even heard of a doctor doing this, and I doubt I'll experience it again in my lifetime. It just shows he cares, as does the attitude of everyone in the office. You can tell they love what they do and they love their patients, just by the joy you see in the entire staff. You'd be a fool to go to anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 23, 2012

Highly Recommended Doctor! - My family eye doctor had told me in the past that my vision was too bad for Lasik eye surgery. I then met with Dr. John Berdahl and he had nothing but positive feedback for me. He explained that I was qualified for Lasik and explained how quick and easy the process would be. He could sense I was nervous and did an outstanding job putting my mind at ease. He walked me through step by step of what he was doing and was very comforting throughout the entire process. He called after I was home to talk personally and make sure everything was going smoothly, this made me feel very important as a patient. Dr. Berdahl is an amazing doctor, but an even better person. He is very sociable and knows how to make you feel very comfortable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 13, 2012

Put My Mind at Ease - When I experienced a sudden vision loss, shortly before leaving town for 2 weeks, my optometrist sent me to Dr. Berdahl, who fit me in the very next day. I am blind in one eye from a childhood accident, so I was very concerned. Dr. Berdahl quickly diagnosed the problem and put my mind at ease. I recommend him highly, for his extremely high level of competence and his kindness. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 14, 2011

Best Medical Experience Ever!!! - As an Air Force ROTC Cadet working to obtain a flight position, getting eye surgery was a must for me. I was obviously nervous going into the surgery, but they made me extremely comfortable and everything was great! All through the entire process they were extremely professional and caring. I never waited for more than 15 min for any of my visits. I highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision as well as Dr. Berdahl and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 12, 2011

EXCELLENT Doctor! - I must admit that I was a bit chicken to have LASIK done, but I was so sick of being a slave to my contact lenses & glasses. After my consultation with Dr. Berdahl, he gave me the reassurance that I needed. He was extremely patient & professional, and he took his time examining my eyes. Never once did I feel rushed or hurried. I wish all Dr.s were like him! On the day of surgery his staff was very professional in the manner in which they explained my post op care, embarrassingly one of the nurses even held my hand b/c I was so nervous! When Dr. Berdahl said it was over, I couldnt believe how fast it went! ZERO PAIN. Now that I look back, I cant believe I didnt get this done sooner! If youre thinking about getting this procedure done, I HIGHLY Recommend Dr. Berdahl~~SEE for yourself. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 20, 2010

Great Doctor...Highly Recommend - I visited Dr. Berdahl for a consult for Lasik surgery and had the surgery a week later with him. During my consult visit, all the nurses that conducted the prelimiary tests were great. They all went out of their way to put me at ease and explain everything they were doing. I then visited with Dr. Berdahl and he explained the best procedure for me and explained step by step everything that would occur during the surgery. This was very helpful and reassuring in putting to rest any doubts I had about doing the surgery. Surgery day went great. After all the usual preliminary paperwork, I was in the surgery room within 5 minutes. The surgery itself could not have lasted longer than 10 minutes. At every step Dr. Berdahl, or his nurses, told me exactly what was going to happen and how long each step of the process would take. Dr. Berdahl has a great easy going personality and is very easy to talk to and to ask questions of. He is genuinely concerned about helping you fix your eyesight and will take the time to make sure that you are 100% informed on every part of the Lasik surgery. I have recommend co-workers and family members to visit Dr. Berdahl because I know the care they will receive will be exceptional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 09, 2010

Dr. Berdahl was both professional and friendly during my visit. He explained the procedure and problem in a way that I clearly understand what was going on. He made me feel at ease with the entire process from start to finish. More