Patient Reviews

Reviews for Cataracts Procedures Near Sioux Falls, SD

Testimonials

Vance Thompson Vision believes that prospective patients need an excellent resource for information on eye conditions, treatments, and other personal experiences to make an informed decision on the right person for their ophthalmologic needs. If you live in the Sioux Falls, SD area and you are searching for an eye surgeon for your cornea, glaucoma, cataracts, and other eye care needs, please read through our patient reviews to gain perspective and insight. We are thankful for each one of our testimonials and are happy to publish them here in one place for our visitors to browse. Our board-certified ophthalmologist surgeons (Drs. Thompson, and Berdahl), and optometrists (Drs. Wallin, Rasmussen, Schweitzer, Schmit, and Ibach) know that each patient is special and deserves a personalized patient experience.

Filter37 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 16, 2019

Vance Thompson Vision successfully performed cataract surgery with replacement lenses. I am totally gobsmacked with the brilliant results and would not hesitate recommending Dr Baartman's skillful artistry and expertise to one and all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 10, 2019

Everything was explained for my cataract surgery, so I knew what to expect, and I was given many opportunities to ask questions. Both surgeries went better than I expected and I felt like the surgeon and entire staff are very knowledgeable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 30, 2019

I had cataract surgery done on both of my eyes. I am ecstatic. I no longer need my glasses to read (even small print), work on my laptop and everything that I needed glasses for before. I will recommend VTV to anyone who needs any eye work done. You are treated like they really care about you as a person when you come in. They explain everything thoroughly and in language you can understand. They answer every question asked of them. Every employee is very courteous. I am very happy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 19, 2019

Vance Thompson Vision is top rate from the time you enter until you leave. I would rate them a 10 on all areas. I actually looked forward to going because of their friendly personnel. The cutting edge technology and Vance's expertise took away any anxiety I would have had.during my cataract surgery. I had the enhanced lens and for the first time in years I can type this without glasses. I no longer panic if I don't have multiple pairs of glasses within reach. I would HIGHLY recommend Vance and his team. Faye J More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 11, 2019

Yes, I would recommend Vance Thompson Vision. I am so glad that I had my cataract surgery done there. Dr. Vance and all the staff there were all very professional,, knowledgeableable, and kind. I am so happy that I can finally see better More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 14, 2019

I recommend Vance Thompson Vision for your eye care needs. They really care about their patients. I had cataract surgery and am one of those people who needs to undergo another procedure for further correction. Not only do they explain everything, they also follow up with phone calls to see how you are doing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2018

You will be treated like family the minute you enter the building. All of the staff has genuine smiles and are willing to help answer any questions. The team of doctors is second to none and I wouldn't trust anyone else with my Cataract Surgery. They use an arsenal of advanced diagnostics to determine the best approach to achieving my goal of getting the best vision possible and take the time to explain every step of my journey to better vision after Cataract Surgery.  And today I'm free of glasses! I even received a personal phone call from my doctor in the evening after my surgery... just to check in. Vance Thompson Vision truly is "The Best On Earth"! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 04, 2018

I had both cataracts removed. The only reason I was willing to do the second one is because the first was the easiest procedure I have ever been through! LOL!! Dr. Berdahl’s team really put my nerves at ease!! Highly recommend this facility...from start to finish!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 15, 2018

Excellent results! - Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Dr. Thompson is so experienced so that I didn't hesitate to choose him to do my cataract surgery. Thrilled that I did. So happy to be able to see clearly again and I don't have to wear glasses to drive anymore! Completely satisfied with the service I received. Thank you to DR. Thompson and his staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 09, 2018

Cataract/multi focal lens implant - The difference between night and day. I first met Dr. Thompson in 1996 when he performed Lasik surgery on my right eye giving me the ability with mono vision to see without glasses for the first time in 20 plus years. In 2016 I noticed that my vision was changing for the worse. I contacted my optometrist Dr. Jeff Sayler and he confirmed that I had cataracts forming in both eyes. We discussed and agreed on a referral to Dr. Thompson. From the moment you walk in to Dr. Thompson's clinic things move like clockwork. Each person you deal with makes sure they are focused on you. Each person you deal with makes sure you understand each and every procedure you are going through. Dr. Wallin and Dr. Thompson then walk you through what they think is the best ultimate procedure for you. The surgery on each eye was scheduled one week apart and everything that happened to me through the procedure and afterwards had been explained to me and I felt well informed and prepared for everything. What a great team. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Vance Thompson to anyone. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 01, 2018

The cataracts surgery was a breeze highly advised to have done More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 18, 2018

Cataract/multi focal lens implant - I recently had cataract surgery on both my eyes and also chose to have the multi focal lens implanted in each eye at the same time. The procedures were seamless from start to finish. Every person involved in the process was very professional, informative and presented with a caring attitude. Dr. Thompson is all of that and more. He is a very talented Ophthalmologist and I would recommend him and his team to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 17, 2018

Five Stars - I had cataract surgery at Dr. Thompson's clinic. The staff was very courteous and aware of my feelings and concern about the surgery. They handled everything professionally. Dr. Thompson visited with me prior to the surgery making me feel relaxed during the surgery. I highly recommend Dr. Thompson and his clinic. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 17, 2018

I had cataract surgery at Dr. Thompson's clinic. The staff was very courteous and aware of my feelings and concern about the surgery. They handled everything professionally. Dr. Thompson visited with me prior to the surgery making me feel relaxed during the surgery. I highly recommend Dr. Thompson and his clinic. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 13, 2018

Unbelievable patient experience. - Dr. Thompson and his entire staff create a unique patient experience that makes you feel special and empowered to make the best decision for yourself. Everyone at the clinic ensured I was comfortable throughout the entire decision-making process and surgery. From a surgical standpoint, Dr. Thompson is one of the pioneers of refractive surgery and you shouldn't second-guess his expertise and craft as a refractive surgeon. His willingness to spend time with each patient to ensure they are comfortable with the plan is special. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 21, 2018

I just had my second greatly successful cataract surgery at VTV. My vision is currently 20/20, which enhances my ability to see fine music notation. My experiences were top-notch across the board— I would highly recommend VTV for any ophthalmic need! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 21, 2018

I just had my second greatly successful cataract surgery at VTV. My vision is currently 20/20, which enhances my ability to see fine music notation. My experiences were top-notch across the board— I would highly recommend VTV for any ophthalmic need! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 11, 2018

Excellent Surgeon - Dr. Berdahl performed cataract surgery and placed a stent for my glaucoma issue in both eyes. I have the upmost confidence in Dr. Berdahl as a very compassionate and experienced doctor. I would never let any other doctor treat my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

My SMILE procedure went well, I got 20/20 vision the next day. Still a little blurry but it’s clearing up. So far so good :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 09, 2018

Cataract surgery - My cataract surgery went WAY better than I thought was possible. I had my cataract surgeries 1 week apart and EVERYTHING went amazingly well. The staff and Dr's were very friendly and helpful and answered all of my questions. I was very impressed with the care that I received and would highly recommend them for your eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Google  |  May 16, 2017

The staff and Doctors were very friendly and willing to explain what was happening. I have worn glasses for over 50 years, and after having 2 cataracts removed I have 20/15 and 20/20 vision. I just need reading glasses. What an amazing discovery. They were very professional and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 15, 2017

So pleased that my Dad had his cataract surgery here. Amazing results and the staff is absolutely AMAZING. So patient, so kind, and so thoughtful. I can really tell that they care about older people. I will be recommending Vance and his staff to everyone!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 25, 2017

I recently had stents implanted for glaucoma and cataract surgery at the same time. Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Ibach were great to deal with. Everyone at VTV was friendly and professional. I would recommend VTV for anyone that needs help for their eyes. I didn't know going to a clinic could be such a great experience. Amazingly, I can see better that ever -- like in 60+ years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 12, 2016

I had PRK surgery on Friday and spent many days seeing these people. Every single person there is friendly and has a smile on their face. They make you feel like more than a number. My tension was eased just by how I was treated at each visit. The procedure went smooth & Dr. Thompson and the other doctors were very thorough in explaining what was going to happen and why. I would definitely recommend them to anyone. Thank you all at Vance Thompson vision for such great care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 11, 2016

Wondered - My husband and I both had cataracts and chose to do further corrective surgery! We both are happy with the results, and we are impressed with the professionalism of the entire staff. We both like coffee and soft music as well as the support staff who are personable and knowledgeable!! Thanks!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 19, 2016

Five Stars - Dr. Vance Thompson has operated on my eyes several times for monovision, cataracts and fine tuning....all were successful and I could not be more pleased with not only the outcome but the excellent caring service I received each and every time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 09, 2016

Five Stars - I would highly recommend Dr Thompson. He did my cataract surgery back in 2009. I just had a little clean up of the lens and again everything went perfectly. I feel like he is so confident in what he is doing that I did not worry about one thing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 08, 2016

Teacher - I had an excellent experience throughout my cataract appointments. All staff and doctors were courteous and informative. Dr. Thompson explained all aspects about my cataract surgery and answered all my questions. I would defiantly choose Dr. Thompson and the Vance Thompson Vision Clinic again. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 09, 2016

Cataract Surgery - The results of my cataract surgery have vastly exceeded my expectations. After the surgery and fine tuning procedure I can clearly read the 20/10 line of the eye chart. I found it to be a painless procedure and am delighted to be able to read and function without glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 21, 2016

My cataract surgery was a pleasant experience and I would definitely recommend Vance Thompson Vision to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 08, 2016

I would like to Thank and recommend Vance Thompson Vision! - I would like to Thank and recommend Vance Thompson Vision to anyone thinking about having Lasik surgery. He is a pioneer and leader in Lasik and cataract surgery! Vance Thompson Vision has a state of the art facility and a courteous professional staff. I went to Wolfe eye clinic and they refused to do the surgery... I am so Thankful that they refused service as I ended up with the best Lasik surgeon. Vance Thompson Vision are known for correcting others Doctor's failed eye surgeries! So why not start with the Best? I am a 59 year old male that was totally blind without glasses, after surgery I have 20/15 vision and only need reading glasses for very small print. I should have done this years ago! I was really nervous about having this surgery, but Dr. Vance Thompson and his staff was really good about talking me through this procedure. It is really cool, they take you into the procedure room, you lay down on the table and it moves you to the lasik machine and it verifies, then it automatically moves you over to the Lens cutting machine and the incisions are made, then it takes you back to the lasik machine and with in a few minutes you have Great Vison! Then they verify that the incision is properly in place. I walked out of Vance Thompson Vision on my own two feet, seeing better than I can remember! Once again, I would like to Thank Vance Thompson and his entire staff for a great experience and a job well done! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.O.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 12, 2016

These guys did some bombass cataract surgery and Lasik on my eye. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 22, 2015

Excellent patient care - I recently had cataract surgery. I was nervous about the surgery but after having my pre-op and visiting with Dr. Berdahl I felt very positive about the surgery. Dr. Berdahl did a wonderful job and is a great surgeon. This whole experience has been nothing but top notch from the minute I walked into their clinic until the moment I left everyone was very friendly and helpful. I want to thank Dr. Berdahl and his whole staff for taking such good care of me. For the first time in my life I can see without contacts or glasses. It has been an amazing journey. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.O.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2014

Totally professional, personable staff. Laser-assisted cataract surgery is like a miracle, life-changing for the better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.O.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2014

Totally professional, personable staff. Laser-assisted cataract surgery is like a miracle, life-changing for the better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 01, 2014

Amazing people, amazing results. They changed my life, gave me a second chance at life with giving me my vision back. I've had a cornea transplant and also cataract surgery, both extremely successful. Beyond 5 star service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 03, 2014

Following lasik surgery, cataract surgery, lasik fine-tune, and my 2nd YAG prodedure yesterday, I am amazed at the clarity of my distance vision! During my walks, the leaves on the trees are especially vibrant and sharp! Thank you, God, for the wisdom and expertise of Dr. Wallin and Dr. Thompson!!! More