Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sioux Falls, SD Principal Researcher Dr. John Berdahl

Testimonials

Vance Thompson Vision believes that prospective patients need an excellent resource for information on eye conditions, treatments, and other personal experiences to make an informed decision on the right person for their ophthalmologic needs. If you live in the Sioux Falls, SD area and you are searching for an eye surgeon for your cornea, glaucoma, cataracts, and other eye care needs, please read through our patient reviews to gain perspective and insight. We are thankful for each one of our testimonials and are happy to publish them here in one place for our visitors to browse. Our board-certified ophthalmologist surgeons (Drs. Thompson, and Berdahl), and optometrists (Drs. Wallin, Rasmussen, Schweitzer, Schmit, and Ibach) know that each patient is special and deserves a personalized patient experience.

Filter24 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 24, 2019

Without doubt, my complete experience at Vance Thompson Vision has been above and beyond compare. Every single person with whom I had contact was totally awesome - from the moment I called requesting an appointment through my departure from day-after-surgery check up. Sarah, Steph, Stephanie, Aimee, Dr. Ibach, Dr. Berdahl, Gideon, Chris, Becky, Jeremy . . . and just everyone! What an amazingly gracious team you have on board.Thank you for all the smiles, delightful communications, for uplifting my spirits, and giving me hope. I loved the surgery serenade, Dr. Berdahl and Surgical Team. Jeremy, I'm excited about staying in touch and learning everything possible about the Equinox study. Couldn't be more exciting news for the glaucoma crowd Go Team!Warmly,Jeanne Deller More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 14, 2019

As an eye surgeon, I made the decision to travel from Utah to Sioux Falls to have Dr. John Berdahl perform my surgery. I was able to experience their famous team approached to patient service and care. Amazing! Such nice and caring people who are so skilled at what they do and sincerely care about people and patients. My results so far are better than anticipated! These are the leaders in the country on customer service and treating employees and patients exceptionally well! Isn't this what doctoring is all about or should be?? Kudos VTV! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 14, 2019

As an eye surgeon I didn't consider any other place to have my eye surgery than at Vance Thompson Vision. I have known Dr. Thompson and his fellow surgeons and employees for nearly 30 years. They epitomize the concept of team approach to service and perform it better than any other place. It was a pleasure to experience their service first hand. Friendliness and caring from the moment you walk in. Expedited service where your personal team technician takes you from the waiting room (after a very short wait) and performs all the testing required for the surgeon and optometrist to analyze the problems and present the solutions. Dr. Berdahl is internationally famous and for good reason. He is knowledgeable and skillful. I did not feel a thing and my results so far are better than expected. They treat their employees and patients exceptionally well and it shows. It was well worth the trip from Utah. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 19, 2019

Everything about the experience was great. The staff is so pleasant and welcoming, from the checkin to the checkout. The surgery staff is exceptional in their ability to put you at ease, be informative as to the process and what to expect. Dr. Berdahl was down to earth and not aloof. He made me feel comfortable knowing I was in good hands. It was an overall excellent experience. The result is that I can see the world clearer, brighter and no longer in a sepia fog. I would not hestitate to recommend Vance Thompson Vision to my friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 14, 2018

From the receptionist to Dr. Berdahl the nicest and most caring people you will ever meet. Make you feel like you are the most important person there. Rod K. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 04, 2018

I had both cataracts removed. The only reason I was willing to do the second one is because the first was the easiest procedure I have ever been through! LOL!! Dr. Berdahl’s team really put my nerves at ease!! Highly recommend this facility...from start to finish!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 01, 2018

The staff is awesome, Dr Berdahl’s team is amazing, as is Dr Berdahl. I am treated like family and I love it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 08, 2018

At my age (class of 67) that dreaded night blindness crept into my life and I was directed to Vance Thompson Vision. Upon walking to the front desk and was instantly put at ease as they greeted me like I was the most important person there. Long story short I was asked if I would like to participate in an FDA study project and met up with Dr. Berdahl, whose enthusiasm to help me was contagious and put me at ease . He really blew me away following my surgery when he sent m...e a text that evening, that if I had any questions or concerns during the night to call him on his cell?!! , WOW, Everyone that I have come in contact there seem to follow his lead as all have been great, especially my Study Group "Boss" , Samantha who has kept me on schedule, informed and my favorite Patsy Cline tunes in the background. Her Parents must be so Proud ! I walked in with basically 20 / 60+ vision and even though I am still recovering I am already at 20/25 and the world is so bright. The glasses have been tossed and I'm loven it! I was asked how I felt at my last followup and the only thing I could say was "FANTABULUS"!! , More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 05, 2018

I had LASIK done by Dr Berdahl and it's been one of the best things I've ever done. From the second I walked in the door I was impressed. The entire staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The office was very clean and smelled amazing because they bake cookies right in the lobby. I was super scared prior to surgery but the staff in the surgery department were very comforting. I drove to my follow up appt the next day and then went to work! I love waking up and being able to see instantly!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2018

Vance Thompson Vision:    COMFORTIBLE and PROFESSIONAL.    I had eye surgery done at Vance Thompson Vision.   It did exactly what they said it would and it eliminated my need for glasses.    It was very comfortable and professional from the waiting areas  to the finished product.   I would definitely recommend them.   Feel free to contact me.   DEL JOHNKE More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 08, 2018

Vance Thompson Vision: COMFORTIBLE and PROFESSIONAL. I had eye surgery done at Vance Thompson Vision. It did exactly what they said it would and it eliminated my need for glasses. It was very comfortable and professional from the waiting areas to the finished product. I would definitely recommend them. Feel free to contact me. DEL JOHNKE More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 16, 2017

Dr. Berdahl and his team are second to none!! You won't find a better eye surgeon anywhere. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 16, 2017

I am absolutely amazed with my vision after LASIK surgery at Vance Thompson Vision. Until I no longer had to wear them, I didn't realize how much contact lenses were irritating my eyes and making them feel dry. I had surgery in the late afternoon on a Thursday and was at work at 7am Friday morning with 20/15 vision. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my experience has been. I would recommend Dr. Berdahl and Vance Thompson Vision over and over again, it truly is a world class establishment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 19, 2017

Dr. Berdahl performed my LASIK eye surgery and I am 100% satisfied. Dr. Berdahl and all of his staff have treated me so well throughout the process of consultation, surgery, and post-op check ups. I went in to see if I qualified for surgery in May of 2016 and was able to schedule surgery in early June 2016. They were thorough with their explanations as well as making me feel comfortable through the process. Within 24 hours I had 20/20 vision and a year later I have 20/15. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 25, 2017

I recently had stents implanted for glaucoma and cataract surgery at the same time. Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Ibach were great to deal with. Everyone at VTV was friendly and professional. I would recommend VTV for anyone that needs help for their eyes. I didn't know going to a clinic could be such a great experience. Amazingly, I can see better that ever -- like in 60+ years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 08, 2016

Dr Berdahl is the best! I can't believe how easy and painless this whole process was. I can't thank him and all of the caring, kind and dedicated staff! Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

I had a fantastic experience getting PRK at Vance Thompson Vision. Dr. Ibach did a great job of explaining how everything was going to go and Dr. Berdahl was awesome when it came to the actual procedure. Everyone I came across at the office was pleasant and professional. All things considered it was the best medical experience I've ever had. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

Dr. Berdahl did my LASIK over two years ago and it has been one of the best choices I have ever made. My vision is still awesome! I felt well informed and relaxed about the entire procedure. The entire team was outstanding and I could not have asked for a better outcome. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

I have a eye disease called keratoconus. As my keratoconus got worse, many eye doctors told me I would never be able to see very well again, until I meet Dr. Berdahl. He was able to get my vision all the way back to 20/20, something I expected would never happen again. He is now the only Dr. with whom I will trust my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

Dr. Berdahl recently performed my LASIK surgery and he was awesome! He answered all of my questions during the initial consult and was comforting during the surgery. I was nervous about how I would react during the surgery but Dr. Berdahl was encouraging through the whole procedure. I can honestly say that I had a fun time before, during and after surgery! My vision is fantastic and was seeing 20/15 after one week. I'm so excited that I don't have to worry about glasses anymore when taking photos. I recommend Dr. Berdahl and team to anyone who is considering LASIK surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

Dr. Berdahl and his team at Vance Thompson Vision are amazing! They have a very welcoming, knowledgeable, and friendly staff who make you feel at home and cared for. I have always wanted to be free from glasses and contacts. I now see 20/15 after my LASIK surgery. Being able to see right away when I wake up is amazing! If you want your vision corrected by world renowned surgeons with the best possible laser technology, trust Vance Thompson Vision. I am very pleased with the whole experience with Vance Thompson Vision, and today I am glasses and contacts free! I tell everyone how great that place is! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2015

I don't even know what to say. From initial contact with the office my experience has been top-notch. Everyone has gone out of their way to help me in any way that they can. When I arrived for my appointment this morning the receptionist was super and offered to help however she could. Everyone was so polite to both me and my mom, who was with me because I don't drive [I'm in a wheelchair]. Sarah, the tech who was helping Dr. Berdahl, was so sweet and tried to make things as ...easy as possible. Both Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Schweitzer had the best bedside manners. They understood my frustrations, they didn't treat me like an invalid because of the wheelchair, they explained everything thoroughly and they made sure that I was comfortable with the plan before we proceeded with anything. Dr Schweitzer came up with a possible issue that nobody else had ever thought of before and, as a result, we were able to attempt laser surgery that we had never even considered as a possibility previously. And Dr. Berdahl asked me more than once if everyone was being nice and treating me with respect. I have never in my life been treated with as much compassion and care and I received in your office today. I will DEFINITELY refer any of my friends and family to your office and I will be telling my primary care provider and my regular optometrist that if they ever need to refer to an ophthalmologist, Dr Berdahl and his team are the best in my opinion. Thanks for a great appointment!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2015

Dr. Berdahl performed my LASIK surgery and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I was really nervous and he took time to answer all my questions making sure I was completely relaxed and confident in my choice before surgery. The procedure itself was so quick and the recovery time was less than 3 hours! I was able to drive myself to my appt the next morning and I was already 20/15 in less than 24 hours! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2015

Everything about this experience was easy, I felt very comfortable with everyone from the beginning with my consultation and through my surgery. This is a very top notch place! More