Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sioux Falls, SD Director of Refractive Surgery Dr. Vance Thompson Oculoplastic Treatments Procedures

Testimonials

Vance Thompson Vision believes that prospective patients need an excellent resource for information on eye conditions, treatments, and other personal experiences to make an informed decision on the right person for their ophthalmologic needs. If you live in the Sioux Falls, SD area and you are searching for an eye surgeon for your cornea, glaucoma, cataracts, and other eye care needs, please read through our patient reviews to gain perspective and insight. We are thankful for each one of our testimonials and are happy to publish them here in one place for our visitors to browse. Our board-certified ophthalmologist surgeons (Drs. Thompson, and Berdahl), and optometrists (Drs. Wallin, Rasmussen, Schweitzer, Schmit, and Ibach) know that each patient is special and deserves a personalized patient experience.

Filter34 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 12, 2019

I was kind of a chicken when it comes to my eyes, but the people and doctors at Vance Thompson Vision were amazing and made me feel at ease. I would highly recommend going there for any eye issue. they are the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 18, 2019

I have been 100% satisfied with Vance Thompson with special recognition to Dr, Justin Schweitzer.  I am a Keratoconus patient with two transplants.  Dr. Schweitzer fitted perfectly two sclhlerl lensess in both eyes that I absolutely love.  My vision as a result has been near 20/20 in both eyes since,  The staff is very friendly and easy to work with.  Nice waiting area with complimentary coffee, soda, water and snacks.  I would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 02, 2019

I have been coming to Vance Thompson Vision for many years and am very impressed. I know my eyes are being well taken care of and wouldn't want to see anyone else. The entire staff work well together and are friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this office to my family and friends. Ana N. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 09, 2018

Cataract/multi focal lens implant - The difference between night and day. I first met Dr. Thompson in 1996 when he performed Lasik surgery on my right eye giving me the ability with mono vision to see without glasses for the first time in 20 plus years. In 2016 I noticed that my vision was changing for the worse. I contacted my optometrist Dr. Jeff Sayler and he confirmed that I had cataracts forming in both eyes. We discussed and agreed on a referral to Dr. Thompson. From the moment you walk in to Dr. Thompson's clinic things move like clockwork. Each person you deal with makes sure they are focused on you. Each person you deal with makes sure you understand each and every procedure you are going through. Dr. Wallin and Dr. Thompson then walk you through what they think is the best ultimate procedure for you. The surgery on each eye was scheduled one week apart and everything that happened to me through the procedure and afterwards had been explained to me and I felt well informed and prepared for everything. What a great team. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Vance Thompson to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 22, 2018

Cataract/Cornea - Dr. Berdahl performed successful Cataract/Cornea surgery on both my eyes and I no longer need prescription eyeglasses (just use readers for small print). The entire team at Vance Thompson Vision is excellent (very friendly and professional from the minute you walk into the waiting room). Strongly recommend Dr. Berdahl. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 18, 2018

Cataract/multi focal lens implant - I recently had cataract surgery on both my eyes and also chose to have the multi focal lens implanted in each eye at the same time. The procedures were seamless from start to finish. Every person involved in the process was very professional, informative and presented with a caring attitude. Dr. Thompson is all of that and more. He is a very talented Ophthalmologist and I would recommend him and his team to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Google  |  May 01, 2018

I had a very pleasant experience with Vance Thompson Vision. I wouldn’t trust my eyes with anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2018

Not only can I see 20/20 now (I was a -7 in contacts), everyone in the clinic was fantastic. I talked to others who went to other clinics, and I'm glad I chose Vance Thompson Vision for LASIK. I was anxious, but never nervous. I appreciate how the staff kept me calm and the great job Dr. Thompson did on my eyes. I can't say thank you enough! It was a very positive LASIK experience More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 12, 2018

LASIK was the best decision - Not only can I see 20/20 now, everyone in the clinic was fantastic. From when I walked in the door to when I left from both appointments, everyone was genuinely nice and helpful. I talked to others who went to another clinic and I'm glad I chose Vance Thompson Vision. And everyone that went to VTV repeats the compliments. I was anxious, but never nervous. I appreciate how the staff kept me calm and the great job Dr. Thompson did on my eyes. I can't say thank you enough! It was a very positive experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 11, 2018

Getting my LASIK done at Vance Thompson Vision was one of the best choices I have made! The staff was kind, friendly, and attentive. The doctors were patient and explained everything thoroughly to me. I was nervous the day of surgery and one of the nurses took time to hold my hand during my procedure! Dr. Thompson is simply the best and I am grateful everyday for my new eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 07, 2018

As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser causing correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 07, 2018

Dr. Thompson and his team performed my LASIK several months ago and I am still blown away by the experience and my current vision. I am so impressed by their attention; during my consultation, Dr. Rasmussen recognized that I probably didn't need to have surgery in both eyes, and recommended LASIK on only my right eye. It worked, and I see better than I could have imagined. Vance Thompson Vision offers truly patient-centric care and I always looked forward to visiting! Their staff is incredibly welcoming. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 06, 2018

Five Stars - As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser vision correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 06, 2018

As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser vision correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 06, 2018

As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser vision correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 17, 2018

Tomorrow marks 2 weeks since having Lasik vision correction surgery done by Dr. Vance Thompson. After having worn glasses for the past 37 years, it is very odd to open my eyes in the morning and see everything around me, including the alarm clock. I had one eye corrected a little less for distance and this allows me to see quite a bit close up but I do use some reading glasses for very tiny or pale print. An easy trade off for me! I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Vance Thompson and his entire team at Vance Thompson Vision! Each person there made me feel like a member of their own family. I feel so blessed to have had one of the best & most experienced eye surgeons in this country! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 18, 2017

This time last year I was pretty miserable in my current eye glasses situation. Ever since I got my first pair of contacts in 4th grade I practically lived in them. I would take them out right before bed and put them immediately back in right when I woke up. I have never been a fan of glasses. However into my adult life I started experiencing contact induced dry eye which forced me into my glasses during work hours... then soon it became all the time. It doesn't seem like tha...t big of a deal but with a prescription of -8.25 even my thinned lens were coke bottles. I also had to have very big lenses as seeing out the sides the extreme blurryness next to the corrective lenses would make me nausea... And the whole feeling like I would fall down stairs if I couldn't see the stairs through my lenses. Then they also had to be very sturdy since I have young children. So huge thick coke bottle glasses were what I had to have. Frustrating to say the least. Every morning I would get up put my contacts in so I could see in the shower, put my makeup on then take out my contacts and put my glasses on and head to work... then I would try to put sunglasses over my glasses because I have very sensitive eyes. There was just so much to it anymore. I missed the days of being able to wear contacts.... until I made the leap to have Lasik. Never would I have thought I was a candidate but I am so happy I was! Now I can wear sunglasses whenever I need to, I can work with no glasses, I can see in the shower! And the list goes on and on. I am so grateful to the entire team at Vance Thompson Vision. The whole process was smooth and easy. The actual surgery was so incredibly fast, there was slight pain but completely tolerable for about 2 hours after surgery then all of a sudden it was gone! I had my surgery on a Thursday afternoon and was back to work Friday! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 18, 2017

This time last year I was pretty miserable in my current eye glasses situation. Ever since I got my first pair of contacts in 4th grade I practically lived in them. I would take them out right before bed and put them immediately back in right when I woke up. I have never been a fan of glasses. However into my adult life I started experiencing contact induced dry eye which forced me into my glasses during work hours... then soon it became all the time. It doesn't seem like tha...t big of a deal but with a prescription of -8.25 even my thinned lens were coke bottles. I also had to have very big lenses as seeing out the sides the extreme blurryness next to the corrective lenses would make me nausea... And the whole feeling like I would fall down stairs if I couldn't see the stairs through my lenses. Then they also had to be very sturdy since I have young children. So huge thick coke bottle glasses were what I had to have. Frustrating to say the least. Every morning I would get up put my contacts in so I could see in the shower, put my makeup on then take out my contacts and put my glasses on and head to work... then I would try to put sunglasses over my glasses because I have very sensitive eyes. There was just so much to it anymore. I missed the days of being able to wear contacts.... until I made the leap to have Lasik. Never would I have thought I was a candidate but I am so happy I was! Now I can wear sunglasses whenever I need to, I can work with no glasses, I can see in the shower! And the list goes on and on. I am so grateful to the entire team at Vance Thompson Vision. The whole process was smooth and easy. The actual surgery was so incredibly fast, there was slight pain but completely tolerable for about 2 hours after surgery then all of a sudden it was gone! I had my surgery on a Thursday afternoon and was back to work Friday! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 16, 2017

I am absolutely amazed with my vision after LASIK surgery at Vance Thompson Vision. Until I no longer had to wear them, I didn't realize how much contact lenses were irritating my eyes and making them feel dry. I had surgery in the late afternoon on a Thursday and was at work at 7am Friday morning with 20/15 vision. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my experience has been. I would recommend Dr. Berdahl and Vance Thompson Vision over and over again, it truly is a world class establishment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 07, 2017

Amazing doctor and team! Wouldn't trust my eyes with anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 29, 2017

Exceptional Service and Care! - I am absolutely amazed with my vision after LASIK surgery at Vance Thompson Vision. Until I no longer had to wear them, I didn't realize how much contact lenses were irritating my eyes and making them feel dry. I had surgery in the late afternoon on a Thursday and was at work at 7am Friday morning with 20/15 vision. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my experience has been. I would recommend Dr. Berdahl and Vance Thompson Vision over and over again, it truly is a world class establishment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 16, 2017

Dr. Thompson and his team performed my LASIK several months ago and I am still blown away by the experience and my current vision. I am so impressed by their attention; during my consultation, Dr. Rasmussen recognized that I probably didn't need to have surgery in both eyes, and recommended LASIK on only my right eye. It worked, and I see better than I could have imagined. Vance Thompson Vision offers truly patient-centric care and I always looked forward to visiting! Their staff is incredibly welcoming. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 16, 2017

Dr. Thompson did my PRK surgery in 2013 and I couldn't be happier with my experience there and my vision since. I would trust any of the doctors there with my eyes. When it comes to something as important as your vision, I wouldn't go anywhere else! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 13, 2017

I have had a couple of different procedures with VTV and both experiences have nothing short of Amazing. As I started getting up there in age, I had to start wearing glasses to read and see things up close. I hated trying to keep track of glasses, as I only needed them to read. I didn't like wearing them all the time because it messed up my distal vision...Then I heard about monovision. To make a long story short, I had the procedure. I no longer need glasses to read and ...my distal vision is still 20/15. Boom! Problem solved. And the procedure was way worth the investment. The second procedure was to treat my severe dry eyes. They suggested Lipaflow. It was a simple procedure (15-20 Minutes), and the results have been incredible. No more watery, irritated eyes, no more eye drops and my eyes aren't all red anymore. This place is amazing. I couldn't be happier with the friendly people who want nothing more than for me to experience the best service and have the best vision possible. I would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision to anyone looking to improve their quality of life! Thank you VTV!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2017

I'm a 34-year old mom of 3 who finally decided it was time to get LASIK! I had both eyes done a month ago, and my experience at Vance Thompson Vision was AMAZING!During my initial consultation, the nurse who I worked with was extremely knowledgeable and friendly - she answered all of my questions and helped me to understand if I was a good candidate (I was!). Dr. Thompson and Dr. Rasmussen were so nice and actually took time with me to answer questions and explain things to me. Dr. Thompson and his nurse were both amazing during the procedure, helping me feel calm and at ease the entire time. It didn't hurt at all, took less than 20 minutes or so, and by that evening I could see really well! It's been a month now of no glasses, no worrying about forgetting my contact case and glasses when we travel, no trying to find my glasses at night when one of the kids wakes up...I'm free! I would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision for LASIK - you'll never regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 19, 2016

Five Stars - Dr. Vance Thompson has operated on my eyes several times for monovision, cataracts and fine tuning....all were successful and I could not be more pleased with not only the outcome but the excellent caring service I received each and every time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 12, 2016

I was very nervous before my LASIK surgery this morning. My vision was nearly -9 in both eyes which means I was pushing the upper limitations of the surgery. I have had glasses for 27 years. After surgery I sat up, read the clock and burst into tears. I can't begin to explain the gratitude I feel for what Dr. Doug Wallin and Dr. Vance Thompson did for me today. I may not get to the 20/20 vision that so many others have due to my extremely high level of correction but the correction I have already experienced just hours after the procedure is truly amazing. I know it will only get better. I recommended Vance Thompson vision to anyone because they are the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 08, 2016

Cataract surgery - Dr. Thompson did a wonderful job of solving my cataract problems in both eyes. In and out in one day, eyes were done 2 week's apart with perfect results. His staff and office processing was the best. Very high tech clinic in every way. Great follow up after surgery to see if everything was going ok. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  May 07, 2016

cateeracts - Great doc - explained everything - friendly - did a super job on both of my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 16, 2016

One year after my procedure with Vance Thompson I still thank them in my head at least weekly. Could not be happier. Rarely have issues with lights at night, only when my eyes are falling asleep anyway. Corrected to 20/15 and this was the first year I could goose/duck hunt without the worry of contacts freezing in cold weather or glasses fogging or reflecting light to approaching birds like the world's most unwanted S.O.S. I recommend them to everyone I know. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 01, 2015

I was blind as a Bat !! -575 in one eye and -525 in the other eye my glasses where so thick they hurt my face and where very expensive to get. and now Thanks to Vance Thompson I have 15/20 ( witch is better then 20/20 : ) in one eye and 20/20 in the other I love being able to see !! No more glasses for this girl !! I can't thank him and Dr Keith Ranussen and there team enough they r Awesome !!!! My only regret is I didn't do this years ago they R Awesome!!!! You can see perfect shortly after the surgery and it didn't hurt !!! I would highly recommend Vance Thompson and his team to any one !!! Don't go out of state to get ur eyes fixed we have the best right here in Sioux Falls !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 17, 2015

Five Stars - I had eye surgery from Vance Thompson 12 years ago.....I was an awesome experience...Only the best for MY EYES!!!!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 30, 2014

THANK YOU VANCE THOMPSON AND VISION TEAM! I had custom Lasik with -3.50 in both eyes. I was seeing 20/15 in both eyes within a couple days! Dr. Thompson, Dr. Rasmussen, and ALL the staff were friendly, personable, and AVAILABLE to answer questions. The science and technology is incredible, but the change in how I experience seeing my wife, children, and the environment around me is like a MIRACLE! I highly recommend Dr. Thompson and his Team! My wife is scheduled for PRK next week! We are so excited for her. Thank you ALL! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 16, 2014

3 months ago today I had PRK done by Dr. Vance & his amazing team. I couldn't be happier with my eyes. I'm on call a lot at the hospital I work at and get called at all hours of the night. It's nice just to be able to get up and go. Even with all the night driving I do, I do not experience any of the long term effects such as haloing or the starburst effects from headlights. I couldn't have asked for a better care team & experience. More