Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sioux Falls, SD Principal Researcher Dr. John Berdahl

Testimonials

Vance Thompson Vision believes that prospective patients need an excellent resource for information on eye conditions, treatments, and other personal experiences to make an informed decision on the right person for their ophthalmologic needs. If you live in the Sioux Falls, SD area and you are searching for an eye surgeon for your cornea, glaucoma, cataracts, and other eye care needs, please read through our patient reviews to gain perspective and insight. We are thankful for each one of our testimonials and are happy to publish them here in one place for our visitors to browse. Our board-certified ophthalmologist surgeons (Drs. Thompson, and Berdahl), and optometrists (Drs. Wallin, Rasmussen, Schweitzer, Schmit, and Ibach) know that each patient is special and deserves a personalized patient experience.

Filter8 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 14, 2019

As an eye surgeon, I made the decision to travel from Utah to Sioux Falls to have Dr. John Berdahl perform my surgery. I was able to experience their famous team approached to patient service and care. Amazing! Such nice and caring people who are so skilled at what they do and sincerely care about people and patients. My results so far are better than anticipated! These are the leaders in the country on customer service and treating employees and patients exceptionally well! Isn't this what doctoring is all about or should be?? Kudos VTV! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 14, 2018

From the receptionist to Dr. Berdahl the nicest and most caring people you will ever meet. Make you feel like you are the most important person there. Rod K. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 04, 2018

I had both cataracts removed. The only reason I was willing to do the second one is because the first was the easiest procedure I have ever been through! LOL!! Dr. Berdahl’s team really put my nerves at ease!! Highly recommend this facility...from start to finish!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 01, 2018

The staff is awesome, Dr Berdahl’s team is amazing, as is Dr Berdahl. I am treated like family and I love it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 08, 2018

At my age (class of 67) that dreaded night blindness crept into my life and I was directed to Vance Thompson Vision. Upon walking to the front desk and was instantly put at ease as they greeted me like I was the most important person there. Long story short I was asked if I would like to participate in an FDA study project and met up with Dr. Berdahl, whose enthusiasm to help me was contagious and put me at ease . He really blew me away following my surgery when he sent m...e a text that evening, that if I had any questions or concerns during the night to call him on his cell?!! , WOW, Everyone that I have come in contact there seem to follow his lead as all have been great, especially my Study Group "Boss" , Samantha who has kept me on schedule, informed and my favorite Patsy Cline tunes in the background. Her Parents must be so Proud ! I walked in with basically 20 / 60+ vision and even though I am still recovering I am already at 20/25 and the world is so bright. The glasses have been tossed and I'm loven it! I was asked how I felt at my last followup and the only thing I could say was "FANTABULUS"!! , More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 25, 2017

I recently had stents implanted for glaucoma and cataract surgery at the same time. Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Ibach were great to deal with. Everyone at VTV was friendly and professional. I would recommend VTV for anyone that needs help for their eyes. I didn't know going to a clinic could be such a great experience. Amazingly, I can see better that ever -- like in 60+ years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 08, 2016

Dr Berdahl is the best! I can't believe how easy and painless this whole process was. I can't thank him and all of the caring, kind and dedicated staff! Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2015

I don't even know what to say. From initial contact with the office my experience has been top-notch. Everyone has gone out of their way to help me in any way that they can. When I arrived for my appointment this morning the receptionist was super and offered to help however she could. Everyone was so polite to both me and my mom, who was with me because I don't drive [I'm in a wheelchair]. Sarah, the tech who was helping Dr. Berdahl, was so sweet and tried to make things as ...easy as possible. Both Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Schweitzer had the best bedside manners. They understood my frustrations, they didn't treat me like an invalid because of the wheelchair, they explained everything thoroughly and they made sure that I was comfortable with the plan before we proceeded with anything. Dr Schweitzer came up with a possible issue that nobody else had ever thought of before and, as a result, we were able to attempt laser surgery that we had never even considered as a possibility previously. And Dr. Berdahl asked me more than once if everyone was being nice and treating me with respect. I have never in my life been treated with as much compassion and care and I received in your office today. I will DEFINITELY refer any of my friends and family to your office and I will be telling my primary care provider and my regular optometrist that if they ever need to refer to an ophthalmologist, Dr Berdahl and his team are the best in my opinion. Thanks for a great appointment!! More